Oh hi there 👋
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every month.

We don’t spam! Read our [link]privacy policy[/link] for more info.

September 25, 2023


Best Entertainment Magazine

Nama Nominees Are Out

4 min read

The 21st annual National Arts Merit Awards event nominees have been announced.

The awards event, titled “Unlocking Dreams,” will take place on February 25 at the Harare International Conference.

Some of the performers scheduled to appear at the event are comedienne Mai TT, Ammara Brown, Holy Ten, Freeman, Tocky Vibes, Mathias Mhere, and Andrea he Vocalist.

Below are the nominees and their categories:


Outstanding Female Dancer

  • Praise Dube in Ngomdladla the dunamis
  • Ndomupeishe Chipendo in Teleunga
  • Lesley Mushaninga in Silently Complicated

Outstanding Male Dancer

  • Terrence Kapesa in AKid from Bulawayo
  • Sean Mambwere in Silently complicated
  • Devante Sangaza in A Champion’s year

Outstanding Dance Group

  • Khaya Arts in Ngomdladla the Dunamis
  • Salt and Light in A Kid from Bulawayo
  • Elysium Magna Dance Theatre in The Birth of Christ

Outstanding Dance Choreographer

  • Future Dube in Ngomdladla the Dunanmis
  • Sean Mambwere in Silently Complicated
  • Hillary Indi in The Birth of Christ


Outstanding 3 Dimensional Work

  • Working Together by Bernard Sakarombe
  • Celebrating Together by Taurai Chinofura
  • Life is a Journey by Charles Manyaura
  • Reflection by Strive Matimura

Outstanding Mixed Media

  • Looking Behind the Pot by Keith Zenda
  • Mysterical Revealer by Terrence Musekiwa
  • A Long Way 2 by Justin Gope

Outstanding Exhibition

  • Bold and Beautiful by Keith Zenda curated by Philip Butler & Keith Zenda
  • A Book that Cannot be Read by Allison Baker curated by Fadzai Muchemwa
  • Roots and Routes by Tamari 8& Natasha Kudita curated by Doreen Sibanda


Outstanding Poet

  • Sithembile Siqoza
  • Obert Dube
  • Prince Ryanne Chidzvondo
  • Ngoni Paradza aka Mambo Guramatunhu

Outstanding Comedian

  • King Kandoro
  • Andrew Manyika
  • Tanyaradzwa Sena

Outstanding Social Media Skits

  • Admire Mushambi aka Mama Vee
  • Kudzanai Chengedza aka Mbuya vaPiyasoni
  • Theophilus Chigumira aka Mai Kirifodhi


Outstanding Journalist – Print

  • Khumbulani Muleya – The Standard
  • Nyadzombe Nyampenza – The Standard
  • Tafadzwa Zimoyo – The Herald

Outstanding Journalist – Radio

  • Owen Madondo – Star FM
  • Anesu Masamvu – ZiFM
  • Yvonne Tivatye – Star FM

Outstanding Journalist Television

  • Candice Mwakalyalya – ZTN
  • Colette Musanyera – ZBC
  • Takudzwa Chihambakwe zTN

Outstanding – Online Media

  • Nash TV
  • Bustop TV
  • Earground


Outstanding Actor

  • Shaun Mundawarara as Cullingwall in The Play that goes Wrong
  • Musa Saruro as Charles in The Play that goes Wrong
  • Ishmael Muvingi as King Lobengula in Bayethe Nkosi

Outstanding Actress

  • Caroline Yule as Mrs Perkins in The Play that goes Wrong
  • Min’enhle Mguni as Renee Stokes in Heartbreak Mafia
  • Sandra Mpofu as Maimbodeyi in Maimbodeyi

Outstanding Theatrical Production

  • Heartbreak Mafia by Reps Theatre
  • The play that goes wrong by Reps Theatre
  • Bayethe Nkosi by Umkhathi Theatre

Outstanding Director

  • Matesu Dube in Bayethe Nkosi
  • AneUnhu Gwatidzo in Heartbreak Mafia
  • Sue Bolt in The Play that Goes Wrong


Outstanding First Creative Published Work

  • The Madman on First Street and other stories by David Chasumba
  • 3.15am and other stories by Rudo D.M Manyere
  • Monomotapa by Tawanda Vomo

Outstanding Children’s Book

  • When the Sun Sets by Nqobizwe Malinga
  • Let’s enjoy Village Tales with Mbuya maDishi by Valentine N.Nyagweta
  • Sloba and the Chameleonaire by Costa Chayambuka

Outstanding Fiction Book

  • The Quality of Mercy by Siphiwe Gloria Ndlovu
  • Intwasa Short Stories Vol. 2 edited by Raisedon Baya
  • Chapwati by Ignatius C. Musonza

Outstanding Poetry Book

  • Starfish Blossoms by Samantha R. Vazhure
  • Ichibi Lezinkondlo by Obert Dube
  • I know why the Heart Sings by Patience Chiyangwa


Outstanding Actor

  • Searchmore Takavada as Husband in 3 days in March
  • Shaun Mundawarara as Jay in Just say Hello
  • Farai Chigudu as Toro in Ngoda

Outstanding Actress

  • Charity Mahowa-Matavo as Tete Rhoda in Viva Wenera
  • Sylvia Mavezera as Wife in 3 days in March
  • Chiedza Mhende as Sonja in Just say Hello

Outstanding Music Video

  • Changes in time (Mvura Yanaya) by Evicted, Directed by Vusa Hlatshwayo
  • Kamoto by Mwenje Mathole, Directed by Jonathana Samkange
  • Fight For Me by Mann Friday, Directed by Kalai Faye Barlow
  • Huya Tinamate by Gemma Griffith ft Enzo Ishall, Directed by Kyle Brown

Outstanding Screen Production (Television)

  • Intab’enkulu Directed by Kuda Brian Bwititi
  • Viva Wenera Directed by Eddy Ndlovu
  • Tangled Directed by Shem Zemura

Outstanding Screen Production (Short Length Film)

  • 3 Days in March Directed by Kuda Brian Bwititi
  • Konflict Directed by Sydney Taivavashhe
  • A Stitch in Tim Directed by william Nyandoro and Raisedon Baya

Outstanding Screen Production(Full Length Film)

  • Ngoda Directed by Joe Njagu and Eddie Sandifolo
  • Just say Hello Directed by Invision Studios
  • Benignity Directed by Tinashe Mombeshora


Outstanding New Comer

  • Tavonga Leo Magombedze (Leo Magozz)
  • Farai Gadzani (Bling 4)
  • Brian Kadyamarunga (Brian Jeck)
  • Silas Mavende aka Saint Floew
  • Andrea Sibanda aka Andrea The Vocalist

Outstanding Female Musician

  • Feli Nandi
  • Dorcas Moyo
  • Sandra Ndebele

Outstanding Male Musician

  • Mark Ngwazi
  • Braveman Chizvino Mawanza aka Baba Harare
  • Energy Silvester Chizanga aka Freeman

Outstanding Song

  • Tirikutandarara by Dorcas Moyo
  • Fire Emoji by Tavonga Leo Magombedze (LeoMagozz),
  • Farai Gadzani (Bling 4) and Brian Kadyamarunga (Brian Jeck)
  • Zimbabwean Queen by Energy Silvester Chizanga(Freeman) and Chris Martin

Outstanding Album

  • Zimbabwean Giant by Braveman Chizvino Mawanza aka Baba Harare
  • David and Goliath by Energy Silvester Chizanga aka Freeman
  • Nharo Nezvine Nharo by Mark Ngwazi


Promoter Of The Year

  • Matabeleland Natural Resources Management
  • X-Mo Squad
  • 2 Kings Entertaiment
  • Chipaz Promotions

Outstanding Artist In The Diaspora

  • Tanaka Fireyi – China
  • Charmaine Shamiso Mapimbiro aka Shasha – South Africa
  • Tafara Nyatsanza – USA
  • Sibongile Mlambo – US

Who do you think will win, send your suggestions in the comment section below.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © CloutBase 2023. All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.
error: Content is protected !!